DIY Disney Movie Night: Cars

CarsThings don’t always go as planned.  Our Cars night was one of those instances.  My stepdaughter is now 12 years old.  She is at an age where she wants to start hanging out with her friends on the weekends.  The weekend we had our Cars night scheduled was one of those weekends.  Of course, my 3 ½ was disappointed she didn’t get to see her big sister, but she still wanted to do Cars night since it was her pick.  On with the show, right?

The decorations:  I used a black table cloth and cut out white lines from construction paper to create lines for a road.  We then used all of my little one’s toy cars as decorations for our “road”.  I also purchased Cars plates and napkins from Oriental Trading Company.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The menu:  Lightening McQueen’s race cars, Mater’s mac & cheese, Sally’s salad and stop light treats.  For the race car sandwiches, I made barbeque chicken.  I just took boneless skinless chicken breasts and seasoned them with a chicken seasoning (I used Penzeys Spices 33rd and Galena chicken and pork rub).  Then I placed the chicken in a slow cooker and covered with barbeque sauce (I used Sweet Baby Ray’s) and cooked on low for 6 hours.  About an hour before we ate, I shredded the chicken with two forks.  To assemble the race car sandwiches, I took whole wheat hoagie rolls and hollowed out the center.  I took four pretzel sticks and inserted them into each corner with a pickle on the end for the wheels.  I then filled the hollowed out center with the barbeque chicken.  I think they turned out super cute!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI actually let my daughter make the stop light treats all by herself.  She loves helping out in the kitchen.  She took a graham cracker stick and dipped it in vanilla frosting.  She then topped the frosted side with one red M&M, one yellow M&M, and one green M&M to look like a stop light.  She did a great job and was so proud of herself for making them without any help!

The activity:  I purchased some balloon car racers from Oriental Trading Company.  I wanted to take them outside, but it was too cold, so we ended up racing in the living room.  I learned the hard way that the balloons don’t blow up very big.  They pop pretty easily!  My daughter had a blast with these and is still playing with them.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Even though she missed her big sister, my daughter said it was the best movie night ever and that I am “the best cooker ever”.  Of course, she says that after ever movie night, but I don’t think I will ever get tired of hearing it.

It’s big sister’s turn to pick, so she picked Toy Story.  I absolutely love Toy Story and plan on going completely overboard.  Stay tuned for our Toy Story Triple Feature:  All three movies, three themed meals, and three Toy Story activities!

Alexia Christensen
Alexia@DestinationsInFlorida.com
http://www.Twitter.com/AlexiaDIFAgent

 

About The Modern Mouse Crew

Modern Mouse Radio is a multimedia Disney fan site run by Josh Taylor and put together by a crew of amazing individuals. Check us out. You won't be disappointed.

Posted on February 26, 2014, in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

