DIY Disney Movie Night: Mulan

Fans are serious business

Fans are serious business

Sometimes my girls catch me by complete surprise.  Our Disney Family Movie Nights so far have been some of those instances.  My stepdaughter is 12, and claims she is very anti-princess.  Even if the princess isn’t technically a princess and is pretty tough, she still wants nothing to do with princesses.  My 3 ½ year old on the other hand, is pretty sure she really is a Disney princess.  As a matter of fact, she insists that everyone calls her Elsa these days.  So it surprised me that my anti-princess child picked Mulan, a princess movie before my princess picked a princess movie.  It turns out that my stepdaughter just wanted me to make her favorite dinner, which I have no problem with at all since she is a picky eater.  I will happily make anything that she will willingly eat.  My sister also decided to join us for our festivities.  The girls always enjoy when their aunt comes to visit!

The decorations:  I used a simple black tablecloth with my daughter’s Mulan doll as our centerpiece.  We used red plates and yellow napkins to represent the colors of the Chinese flag.  We also hung the Chinese lanterns that the girls and my sister created as one of the activities from our chandelier over the kitchen table.

Simple. Chic. Style.

Simple. Chic. Style.

The menu:  You could take the easy way out and just order Chinese food from a restaurant that delivers, which I probably would have done.  Unfortunately, we live out in the middle of nowhere and there are not any Chinese or pizza restaurants that will deliver to our house.  (Can you believe that?)  So, I made this homemade version of sweet and sour chicken (Note: I always double the sauce recipe and it turns out perfect every time) and served it over brown rice with a side of peas.  I would have liked to have made fried rice, but the picky eater was against that idea.  Again, my girls catch me by complete surprise sometimes.  It blows my mind that my stepdaughter loves this sweet and sour chicken, but refuses to eat it with anything other than plain rice and plain peas.  For dessert we had banana “sushi” (bananas covered in peanut butter, then rolled in Rice Krispies and sliced to look like sushi rolls) and fortune cookies (I found these in the Asian section of the grocery store).  My 3 ½ year old could not understand for the life of her why there was a piece of paper in her cookie.  No matter how we tried to explain it to her, she just couldn’t understand it.

The activities:  We actually did two different activities for Mulan:  Chinese fans and Chinese paper lanterns.  Since my sister joined us, the three of them reminded me of the three princesses in Mulan II with their fans.  You can tell that the girls are still obsessed with Frozen since my oldest made an Olaf inspired paper lantern and my youngest was wearing an Elsa wig all evening.  I have a feeling we will be doing another Frozen Disney family movie night when the Blu-Ray is released.

Sweet and Sour Chicken, Peas, and Banana-Krispie Sushi

Sweet and Sour Chicken, Peas, and Banana-Krispie Sushi

Any guesses as to what my little princess picked for our next movie?  Cars!  Like I said, they keep catching me by complete surprise!

Alexia Christensen
Alexia@DestinationsInFlorida.com
http://www.Twitter.com/AlexiaDIFAgent

About The Modern Mouse Crew

Modern Mouse Radio is a multimedia Disney fan site run by Josh Taylor and put together by a crew of amazing individuals. Check us out. You won't be disappointed.

Posted on February 12, 2014, in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

