Disney Trip Planning: Tips on How to Pack for Your Trip

suitcase

this is actually the suitcase I have 🙂

When it comes to packing for a Disney Vacation, I am totally a pro. Seriously, I plan and plan what I am going to wear and to which parks. It’s because I have been to Walt Disney World so many times that I can anticipate what I will need while I am there. So here are some rules I live by when it comes to packing for a Disney Trip:

Plan Outfits – This tip doesn’t have to be as obsessive as it seems. It could simply mean saying, “Ok, I will be there for 7 days, so I need 7 outfits, plus a sweater or sweatshirt if it gets chilly at night.” So, you go through your dresser and pick out exactly 7 shirts and how ever many pairs of pants and shorts you might want to bring (I always just bring 1 pair of jeans, a couple pairs of shorts, and maybe a skirt). For those of you who wear dresses, you may want to bring those, too! The reason I do this is because otherwise I would pack waaaaay too much.

Plan what are Do and Don’t outfits for certain parks – This may be tough if you have never been to the parks before, but I have a couple of rules for myself here. I never wear a white shirt or shorts to the parks that have attractions where I will get wet (like Magic Kingdom’s Splash Mountain, Animal Kingdom’s Kali River Rapids, Disneyland’s Matterhorn Bobsleds, and California Adventure’s Grizzly River Run). I never wear a dress or skirt that will reveal anything embarrassing when stepping up out of certain attraction vehicles (the worst for this is Space Mountain). I always carry around with me in my bag a light sweater to the parks I know will be open pretty late, so if it gets chilly, I am ok (this is also a great rule for the parks with abundant indoor attractions, as air conditioning will feel good until you are in the building for a few minutes).

Screen Shot 2014-01-21 at 8.41.13 AM

These are Crocs, but lots of sites have comfy versions of cute shoes!

Considering Shoes – The shoes I wear in my everyday life just wont cut it when walking around the Disney Parks all day. A good way to gauge if your shoes will be sufficient, go for a reeeeeaaaaally long walk in them and see how your feet feel before your trip. Always break your new shoes in, too. I always pack a pair of sneakers, cushiony sandals, and flats for the nights where I know I wont be walking much (like just going out to dinner).

Packing a day bag – I always bring a bag with me into the parks because Disney is one of the only theme parks around the country that lets you take your bags on  rides (as long as they are secured during the ride). When traveling by plane to Disney World, keep in mind that if you are using Magic Express and aren’t picking up your bags until you get to your hotel, that you pack accordingly. I always make sure my carry-on bag has all the flight info, my tickets, a book, my ipod, my phone, wallet, cash, cards, Magic Express vouchers (very important!), hotel check-in info, etc. But as for touring inside the parks, my bag looks a little different; A brits/bobble filter water bottle, my Key to the World card, I.D., a light sweater, extra socks in a ziplock, my camera, phone, extra ziplock bags (for my electronics on water attractions!), snacks (I have special dietary needs, so I always have approved snacks just in case!), bandaids, disposable ponchos ($1 at the dollar store or other places with a camping/outdoors department), and some extra things here and there.

shampoo

sometimes I bring my own shampoo and just take these home as souvenirs!

Bathroom stuff – Disney hotel rooms have all the basics – pillows, linens, tissues, toilet paper, shampoo/conditioner, bar soap, towels, ice, hair dryers, and you can even add in a mini fridge for $10 a day. But you might need to pack your own personal products if Disney’s versions just wont cut it! Stuff I bring that you might not think of normally is – a small first aid kit with bandaids and neosporin, Q-tips, nail polish, nail polish remover, bobby pins, elastics, tape, scissors, and some other things here and there. The great thing is you can find these things in the resort gift shop if you forget them at home!

And, of course, leave room in your bags for souvenirs!

I have many more packing tips to come in future posts (this by far doesn’t cover it all!), but what are some of your packing essentials when planning your Disney Vacation? Leave your answers in the comments below!

About The Modern Mouse Crew

Modern Mouse Radio is a multimedia Disney fan site run by Josh Taylor and put together by a crew of amazing individuals. Check us out. You won't be disappointed.

Posted on January 21, 2014, in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

