DIY Disney Movie Night: Emperor’s New Groove

Emperor's New Groove Movie Night

Emperor’s New Groove Movie Night

I wasn’t surprised when my stepdaughter chose The Emperor’s New Groove for her pick for our Disney Family Movie night since it is her all-time favorite Disney movie.  However, I did still freak out a little when she picked it because I had no idea how I was going to pull it off.  So my three year old and I sat down one afternoon and watched The Emperor’s New Groove and Kronk’s New Groove hoping that inspiration would strike.  We ended up with a night that was a lot of fun, and my stepdaughter proclaimed a success!

The decorations:  I kept the decorations really low key this time.  We used a red table cloth, yellow plates, and blue napkins to represent the colors that Kuzco wears.  We had a really busy week so I didn’t have time to do more, plus I had a difficult time trying to come up with more ideas.

Masks, noises, and juice!

Masks, noises, and juice!

The activity:  We called our activity “Pick Your Potion”.  There were two parts to this.  First, I found these really cute wooden animal masks at Dollar Tree.  (You will see that I am a big fan of Dollar Tree and Hobby Lobby and find most of the items for our activities from these two stores.)  First, the girls each colored a mask with markers.  Second, we had two different flavors of juice.  They each had to get a mask and act like the animal on the mask when they took a sip of juice.  They had fun swapping masks and acting like a loud, crazy elephant and lion!

The menu:  Kronk’s Spinach Puffs (see below), Cheese Fondue (side note: I doubled this recipe for my family of five, and it was the perfect amount) for Fondue Night at Mudka’s Meat Hut (Kronk’s restaurant in Kronk’s New Groove) with bread, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, salami, and dinosaur chicken nuggets. (“This is Yzma, the emperor’s advisor, living proof that dinosaurs once roamed the Earth.”)  For dessert we had Bucky’s Edible Acorns.  These were mini Nutter Butter sandwich cookies with a chocolate chip on one side and a Hershey’s Kiss on the opposite side attached with frosting.

If you have been following my articles, you know that my stepdaughter is a picky eater.  The only way I can get her to eat spinach is if I mix it with ricotta cheese.  The following recipe is my version of spinach puffs that I knew she would eat.  She actually ate two, so it was a success!  If you are looking for a more traditional spinach puff recipe, try this one.

Dessert Acorns

Dessert Acorns

Kronk’s Spinach Puffs

2 cans refrigerated crescent dinner rolls (I used Pillsbury Big & Flaky Crescent Rolls)

1 box (9 oz) frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed of all liquid

1 egg

1 cup ricotta cheese

½ cup crumbled feta

½ cup shredded mozzarella

¼ tsp salt

¼ tsp garlic powder

¼ tsp black pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray 16 muffin cups with non-stick cooking spray.

Separate each can of crescent dough into triangles along the perforations.  Press one triangle into the bottom and up the sides of each muffin cup.

In a large bowl, mix spinach, egg, cheeses, and seasonings until well combined.  Fill each cup with the mixture, being careful not to overfill.  Fold remaining dough over the top of the cups.

Bake 15-20 minutes or until edges of rolls are golden brown.  Allow to cool for a few minutes and serve warm.  Enjoy!

It’s my three year old daughter’s turn to pick, and she picked Peter Pan.  I’m shocked she didn’t pick a princess movie!  If you need some Peter Pan fun to tide you over, be sure to check out Josh’s article The Whole Picture: Peter Pan.

Alexia Christensen
Alexia@DestinationsInFlorida.com
http://www.Twitter.com/AlexiaDIFAgent

About The Modern Mouse Crew

Modern Mouse Radio is a multimedia Disney fan site run by Josh Taylor and put together by a crew of amazing individuals. Check us out. You won't be disappointed.

Posted on January 8, 2014, in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

