Disney Food: Tortuga Tavern

tortugatavern

Tortuga Tavern is a counter service Mexican fare restaurant located across from Pirates of the Caribbean in the Magic Kingdom. Before February 2011, Tortuga Tavern was called “El Pirata Y El Perico Restaurant”. Fun fact: Tortuga is Spanish for turtle! This restaurant is very colorful and fits right in with the pirate theme. There is plenty of open air seating; however, Tortuga’s hours tend to be limited as it frequently closes early in the afternoon.

We chose this restaurant because we were starving after riding Pirates of the Caribbean for the second time, there was a very short line, and everyone in my family loves Mexican food. I think everyone who wanted Mexican for lunch was at Pecos Bill’s in Frontierland. It smelled absolutely delicious as we were standing outside, but then again it may have been the starvation. I was surprised to find that the menu is very limited. Your choices are basically burritos, nachos, or salads. The kids menu consists of either a quesadilla or a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. My husband and dad both had beef burritos while my stepdaughter and I had beef nachos. After you receive your entrees, there is a toppings bar with lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, salsa, etc. to customize your food. I thought eating nachos would be easier for sharing with my two year old, but that was a mistake. She ended up wearing more than she ended up eating. I was very grateful that I always carry a change of clothes for her with me that day.

tortugatavern3

The non-alcoholic sangria is very good (although I was secretly wishing there had been alcohol in it). When it comes to alcohol, I’m always a sucker for sangria and Bailey’s (not together of course since that would just be weird). For dessert our choices were either triple chocolate cake or cookies and cream gelato. A cast member brought over a piece of key lime pie from Sunshine Tree Terrance for my dad since he can’t have chocolate.

tortugatavern2

The food and the layout of Tortuga reminded me of Moe’s Southwestern Grill. Moe’s is one of our family’s favorites at home, so we all enjoyed Tortuga as well. I have heard that some people despise Tortuga compared to Pecos Bill’s; but I’ve never eaten at Pecos Bill’s, so I can’t really compare the two. I guess I will have to put Pecos Bill’s on our must eat restaurants list for our next trip!

Alexia Christensen
Alexia@DestinationsInFlorida.com
Twitter.com/AlexiaDIFAgent

About The Modern Mouse Crew

Modern Mouse Radio is a multimedia Disney fan site run by Josh Taylor and put together by a crew of amazing individuals. Check us out. You won't be disappointed.

Posted on September 4, 2013, in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

