Disney Food: Pizza Planet

PizzaPlanet4

When I first discovered that there is a Pizza Planet at Disney’s Hollywood Studios, I was excited and scared. I was excited because it’s Pizza Planet, as in Toy Story’s Pizza Planet. If you are a Toy Story fan, you have to eat at Pizza Planet, right? But I was also scared because I was afraid it would be like Chuck E. Cheese. Just typing the name Chuck E. Cheese increases my anxiety levels. I know I’m not the only parent who feels that way. Let me take you on a little trip down my memory lane to explain my fears.

My husband and I took my stepdaughter to a birthday party at Chuck E. Cheese when she was about four years old. She was so excited that she didn’t bother to tell us that she had to go potty and had an accident in her car seat. We had to make an emergency stop at Wal-Mart to clean her up and get a change of clothes. Once we were there, the first thing she wanted to do was climb up in the giant hamster tunnel thing. As she was up in the tunnel, she banged on one of the windows to get our attention. The second we looked up at her she licked the window. Yeah, she licked that germ filled thing that I’m sure no Chuck E. Cheese employee has ever cleaned. Obviously, I am still traumatized by the whole event. My youngest is very Chuck E. Cheese deprived. She actually went to Disney World before she had ever been to a Chuck E. Cheese.

PizzaPlanet2

I can gladly say Pizza Planet is not Chuck E. Cheese. Pizza Planet reminded me more of a Dave and Buster’s, with more big kid or adult games (and no giant hamster tunnel, thank goodness). It wasn’t as large as I expected it to be, but there is still plenty of fun for everyone. Surprisingly, it wasn’t very crowded either. I honestly don’t think a lot of people realize it is there. It is in the back of Hollywood Studios next to Muppet Vision 3D. By the way, it is not located anywhere near Toy Story Mania Midway and the Woody and Buzz Lightyear Meet and Greet location. I found it rather odd that Pizza Planet was so far away from the other Toy Story attractions.

PizzaPlanet6

The menu at Pizza Planet is pretty limited. Your choices are pizza (veggie, cheese, pepperoni, or meat lovers), a meatball sub, or a salad. Kid’s choices are cheese pizza, a mini chicken sub, or a Power Pack (usually yogurt, carrots, Goldfish Crackers, string cheese, and a peanut butter and jelly sandwich). The food was just okay. It wasn’t the worst quick service meal we had, but it certainly wasn’t the best either. You definitely eat at Pizza Planet for the atmosphere, not for the food. The girls had fun running around pretending like they were actually in the movie version of Pizza Planet. I was relieved that I could actually enjoy our time there and left with good memories instead of being traumatized all over again.

Alexia Christensen
Alexia@DestinationsInFlorida.com
http://www.Twitter.com/AlexiaDIFAgent

About The Modern Mouse Crew

Modern Mouse Radio is a multimedia Disney fan site run by Josh Taylor and put together by a crew of amazing individuals. Check us out. You won't be disappointed.

Posted on August 21, 2013, in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. How could I have missed the Pizza Planet when I went?

  2. I was a little disappointed by Pizza Planet too! I could make better pizza than that, but the atmosphere was still a lot of fun.

  3. earsgonebyproject

    The Pizza Planet truly is tucked back into Hollywood Studios. I almost always miss it when I go, just because I forget it’s there. It would be great to see it relocated to Pixar Place, because it really would increase the traffic to the restaurant. Whenever I’ve been in there it’s been really empty, too. I have heard rumors that Hollywood Studios will be getting rid of the lights, cameras, motors show as well as the backlot tour, therefore extending pixar palace all the way from New York street to where the current Pixar Place entrance is in order to make room for Cars Land. I would assume this would help increase the traffic there.

    Also, yeah, the pizza at Disney’s QSR’s is nothing to write home about. I saw on TV that they are all made by machine, so it definitely isn’t anything special like you’d get at Epcot’s Italian pavilion.

  4. I agree. I wasn’t bad. It was actually better than I expected but is not one I would make a point to go back to unless I had kids….maybe

Leave a Reply

