Disney Trip Planning: Adult Vacations

Adult Vacation

A common misconception that silly, silly people have is that a Disneyland or WDW vacation is just for kids or, rather, parents with kids and their kids (I feel like I wrote “kids” way more than 3 times just then). If you are reading this article, you are likely someone who already knows this factoid, but you have someone in your life who doesn’t. Well, send this article over to them, because I’ll be sure to tell them like it is for you!

I’m not actually a very forward person, but when it comes to Disney, things get kind of serious and something needs to be said. So, to all of you people whose Disney-lover-friend just sent them this article because you think a Disney vacation is just for kids, I am here to tell you that you are WRONG! And not even a little wrong – you are actually a-whole-lot-of wrong! So wrong in fact, let me count the ways…

1. Thrill Rides – I think this needs to be at the top of the list, because it is an initial draw to people who want the opposite of kiddy-rides. I have actually never been to Disneyland (I plan on going in the near future though), but if you look at the rides California Adventure has to offer, you’ll sure to be drooling for a taste of that oh-so-appealing thrill ride line up! A couple west coast thrills include: California Screamin’, And be sure to check out some of these in WDW: Rock’n Roller Coaster, Tower of Terror, and Space Mountain. Heimlich’s Chew-Chew Train has been known to get some heart beats racing, as well (not really).

IMG_1769[1]

2. Secluded pathways/ Relaxing rides – If you are the type of person who likes to chill out and relax (chill-lax, if you will) you’ll be happy to know that there are actually some great “off the beaten path” type of areas throughout the parks and resort hotels. To name a few: walking trails at Animal Kingdom in WDW, a stroll around Port Orleans Riverside Resort in WDW, the Storybook Land Canal Boats in Disneyland, a ride on the Carousel in either coast’s park, the People Mover at WDW, boat rides to resorts, and of course the oh-so-romantic tram ride in from the parking lot to Magic Kingdom (kidding – don’t expect that last one to be romantic, then be mad at me).

3. Drinking – Josh probably thought of this one first – just saying. You can actually read my previous article on drinking at the resorts, but if you don’t feel like going to that article (but who could resist?) then let me assure you, there are plenty of places to booze it up. Really, you can act-a-fool if it so pleases you.

4. Adult Time – No, I don’t mean in the gross way – but if you want to do that, there’s time for that, too. What I mean by adult time, is more like, night life and resort hopping. So you can go either way – be kind of boring (I like being boring sometimes) and visit different resorts and just stroll around. You can even make a day of it! Or you can go all out adult-crazy-party style when visiting the Disneyland resort because they have some great night-life activities going on there, like the Mad Tea Party! Also, refer back to number 3.

Worst 10 Places to Propose at Walt Disney World

5. Romantic things – For couples thinking about taking a Disney vacation – you are thinking the right thing. Dine at a signature restaurant (and keep checking back for Alexia’s restaurant reviews here for ideas), rent a bike together, watch the fireworks, and hold hands everywhere. (Also, listen to the podcast Josh, Keith, and Amanda recently recorded for more ideas on this!) Just don’t accidentally ride Mickey’s Fun Wheel in California Adventure thinking it’ll be relaxing and slow paced…

6. Reminiscing/ feeling like a kid again – I saved this one for last because it’s my favorite! Sure maybe you don’t follow newer Disney movie releases, but I know you are lying if you say you didn’t like Disney movies when you were a kid, right? If you really, truly didn’t, I feel bad for 7-year-old you. But I know you did, there’s no denying it, so let me just say how FUN it is to let yourself loose and be a kid again! Eat ice cream for dinner, skip-to-the-loo to each attraction, laugh hysterically, and let yourself get overly excited for EVERYTHING! Did you grow up in the 90s? You will literally SEE real-life (fake) Simba and Gaston and Ariel! OMGZ! Also, you should always sing along to every song you know while on a Disney vacation.

So, I just gave you six solid reasons why a Disney vacation isn’t just for kids. Are you booking your vacation yet?

What are some things you think make Disney a great place for adults? Leave your thoughts and comments below

Angie Carreiro
Angie.Carreiro@GMail.com
http://www.Twitter.com/AngieCarreiro
http://www.ILoveAnimalArt.com

About The Modern Mouse Crew

Modern Mouse Radio is a multimedia Disney fan site run by Josh Taylor and put together by a crew of amazing individuals. Check us out. You won't be disappointed.

Posted on June 24, 2013, in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Long before I was married and had kids, my best friend and I went to Disney World for Spring Break one year when we were in college. Disney World and Disneyland are some of the few places in the world where you can be silly and act like a kid and nobody judges you for it.

  2. I didn’t discover Disney World until my wife (girlfriend back then) and I went for Spring Break. So, to me, Disney has always been accessible as an adult destination. Heck, we even got married there a few years later.

    The thing I always tell people when they ask why I keep going to Disney for vacations is “it’s so easy.” You really don’t have to worry about anything once you are there. And, like you mentioned, there are so many options. Do I want to sit in the pool, eat at a fancy restaurant, or scream my head off on Space Mountain?

  3. I just don’t know where to start planning a trip to Disneyworld for 4 adults… We aren’t made of money and every site I’ve visited has us priced out after 3 days/2 nights — that kind of stinks for a birthday vacation. Looks like if you *don’t* have kids, you should get some sort of break.

    • usually in the Fall (Sept/Oct-ish) they come out with a 20% off discount OR a free dining plan promo (the 20% off always works better with me)!! If you guys are willing to share a room, that can cut the cost way back!

Leave a Reply

