Monday Memories (1/23/12)

Author: Josh Taylor

in the early 1990s, the coolest thing around for boys, which includes myself, was the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. The Turtles were everywhere from television to video games, movies, clothing, and even live shows at Disney-MGM Studios. I was nine years old the first time my family went to Walt Disney World which would mean it was the summer of 1994. I’m not sure how long our vacation was, but I remember that we visited all three of the theme parks at Walt Disney World. I remember visiting Epcot and filling in a passport while going around World Showcase. The most important thing to remember on my first trip to Walt Disney World was my time meeting the Ninja Turtles.

At the time, the Disney-MGM studios, now Disney’s Hollywood Studios, was a working television studio with theme park attractions, although not very many. There was construction happening at the end of Sunset Blvd. which became the Twilight Zone Tower of Terror, but nothing else was down on that side of the park. What the Studios did have were live shows which made you feel as though you were watching a film or television show being filmed. The Turtles show was part dance show andpart rock concert with lots of crowd participation. After the show, like any good actor or actress, the Turtles, and of course April O’Neil signed autographs before leaving the scene and having the park return to normal.

I was so excited to see the show and meet the Ninja Turtles for the first time. I’m not sure if I thought they were real or not, but I do know I wanted to meet them. (After watching Hook and Peter Pan, I thought happy thoughts would make me fly so I’m not sure if I really did buy into how real the Ninja Turtles were.) Because the Turtles were from New York, the show took place on New York Street and I made my family focus the whole day around being on New York Street just in time for the show to start. I knew we would be sticking around for a while too so I could get all the autographs, except for Leonardo’s because I didn’t really like him much.

Anyways, I remember being overjoyed when I finally got to hand over my autograph book to these characters. It was something I will never forget and for that I will always hold onto my little autograph book from when I was a child. I know that it wasn’t a real Ninja Turtle and the guy signing my autograph book was probably named Conner Smith or something, but it is a memory I have and won’t ever let go of, and I would love to do the same for my children when the “it” thing they love performs at Walt Disney World.

(If you would like to share your Disney memory, please send it to disneyparkhistory@yahoo.com with your name. Please keep your post to 1000 words or less and keep your story clean. If you’d like to share photos along with your memory, you are more than welcome to send them.)

About The Modern Mouse Crew

Modern Mouse Radio is a multimedia Disney fan site run by Josh Taylor and put together by a crew of amazing individuals. Check us out. You won't be disappointed.

Posted on January 23, 2012, in Articles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

